Tags

, , , , , , ,

I get asked from time to time what tools I have for blacksmithing. So I thought that I would show some of the tools that I use for simple blacksmithing work.

First and foremost is the anvil.  This is a Fisher anvil from 1905, and weighs about 120 lbs.  A good anvil is a necessity, but you could use a section of railroad rail if that was all that you had to work with. The nice thing about a real anvil is that they have at a minimum of a square hardy hole which allows you to use various tools on the anvil. Most anvils also have a smaller round hole called a pritchel hole, which allows a place for punching and so forth. As you will notice, my anvil does not have a pritchel hole as the heel of the anvil had broken off at some point right at the center of the hole.

Some way to heat up the metal is also required.  Here is a small washtub forge I made a few years ago.  This is a charcoal burning forge made popular by Tim Lively.  I made this one with the fire-pot a little too wide.  I was thinking that for general work it would allow me more room, but indeed it is too roomy.  Most of the stuff I do now is smaller work and a narrower fire-pot would allow me to get a hotter fire with less charcoal.  As it is set up now, I have to burn a lot more charcoal than is necessary.

Here is the blower attached to the side of the forge.  It is a simple squirrel cage blower with a 2″ coupler welded on and then a series of reducers to get it down to a 1″ black pipe.  I ran it into a “T” instead of an elbow, so that I can reduce the airflow to the forge by leaving the other end open.  I can also put a plug into the opening to get a lot more airflow when I need to forge weld.

Next up in Part-2, I will discuss some of the hand tools that you will need such as hammers, tongs, chisels, and a few tools that I need but do not have.

Until then, keep watching my blog for updates. Also if you have questions, comments, or feedback, I would enjoy hearing from you.

Dave

