Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For part-2, I am going to discuss some of the hand tools that I use for blacksmithing.  Click here to read Part-1.

First I will discuss the hammers that I use.  The three on the left are cross peen hammers with the larger one being a 3lb, and the other two being 2 lbs.  I use the short-handled 2lb cross peen the most.  The four hammers on the right side are ball peen hammers with two being 2lb, one being 16 oz, and the little one weighing in at 8 oz.

And here are a few tongs for holding the hot steel.  The two on the left are Off Center Chainmaker V-bit Tongs in two sizes which work well for holding round or square stock.  The one on the right is a Peddinghaus Wolf Jaw tong for general purpose work.  I really could use a few more tongs.  I have started making a few pairs that I need to finish one of these days.

Soap stone is a good way to layout and mark steel.  Here I laid out a steel striker for a flint and steel kit.  Being able to layout something on the anvil is a nice way to see how things are progressing as you forge.  It also serves as what I call the blacksmiths blackboard.

So there you have it.  Those are some of the basic tools you can use to get started doing some blacksmithing work.   More or less you can get started blacksmithing for little money if you are willing to scrounge and build some of your own equipment.

The most costly piece of tooling is the anvil.  The collector market has really driven up the price on good anvils.  Why someone would want to collect anvils is a mystery to me, but I have seen images of guys that have garages full of them that just sit there not being used. This is a bit of a sore spot as you might be able to see, because it makes it hard for those of us that want to use these tool to make something useful have to either work really hard to find a deal or fork out a lot of money to get them.

To get around having to compete with the collector, you can also use any large chunk of steel until you can find a proper anvil.  A lot of people start out with a section of railroad track.  In fact some of the first work I did blacksmithing was on an anvil that my Dad made from a piece of railroad track.

The nice thing about blacksmithing is that you can slowly add tools as you find them.  Also you can make most of your tools if you have the knowledge.  Tools that are often made by the blacksmith are tongs, hammers, punches, and other cutting tools.  So if you get the basic set up you can start making the tools that you might need but do not have the money for at the moment.

Good luck and as always, if there are any questions I would be glad to answer them.

Dave

