Tags

, ,

I have often thought that a wooden mallet would be useful around the shop.  One of the things I plan on making in the near future is some furniture.  I am interested in trying my hand at making chairs in the style that John Alexander has made popular in his book entitled “Make a Chair from a Tree”.

One tool that I will need to build these chairs is a shaving horse.  I figured that when I build the shaving horse that I could use a steel hammer to install the legs and so forth, but I would rather have a more traditional tool for the job.  So I decided that a wooden mallet is something that I should build first.

A simple wooden mallet can be made from just two pieces of wood.  Not only is this style of wooden mallet simple to build but it can be made in a short amount of time.

You need a section of log 4 to 6 inches in diameter and about 6 to 8 inches long for the mallet head.  The bark could be left on or removed.  I chose to remove the bark and chamfer the edges of the striking surfaces to help reduce chipping.

Drill a hole in the center of the mallet head to take a handle.  In my case I drilled the hole with a hand brace and 1″ bit.  Then you can carve a suitable handle that will fit the hole tightly.

All that is left to do is to drive the handle into the mallet head.  I made it so that the handle was a tight fit and therefore did not use glue.  You could use glue though if you like.  Another method of assembly is to allow the handle to dry and install it into a green mallet head.  Then when the head dries it will shrink tight around the handle.

There you have it.  A simple wooden mallet that can be made in a short period of time with just a few materials.

Dave

