Tags

, , , ,

One of the tools that I have been wanting for some time now has been a broad axe.  I would like to have been able to purchase one of the new broad axes produced either by Gransfors Bruks or Biber, however since they run in the $300 to $600 range this was just not a possibility for me at this time.  So I went looking on ebay, which is a place I really would rather not shop, and was able to win this broad axe for just $24.  The blade is 7.5 inches wide and is 9 inches in length.

As you can see there was plenty of pitting and accumulation of rust on it.  The edge was in pretty poor shape as well.  The first thing that I did was to take an old flap sanding disk on the angle grinder and knock down all the rust.  I then worked out the edge of the blade to remove the nicks and get the profile back to a more acceptable form.

The top of the axe was pretty dinged up where the previous owners had hammered wedges or God knows what into the top of the handle.  I cleaned off all of the spots that had been raised from the damaging hammer blows to the top of the axe.

The blade was cold ground back into shape to preserve the heat treatment to the edge.

Next I need to find a good piece of ash or hickory to make a handle from.  When that happens I will post some photos of the completed project.

Dave

