Tags

, , , , , ,

In part one I talked about the Council Tool Boys Axe as I received it. Here are some photo’s of how the axe turned out after some work. I sanded the handle down good and used a homemade walnut stain on it followed up by several coats of BLO. (Boiled Linseed Oil) I also reworked the bevel of the bit a little with a file and stones.

I used this axe exclusively to limb all the fallen trees around my property and my neighbors after we had that bad storm from Hurricane Sandy. I was very surprised at how well this little axe worked. I was able to cut through 2-1/2 Maple limbs with just on swing. This thing really slices through wood superbly. I have not used a lighter axe like this that cut so well.

I think that this would make a great backcountry axe for camping and bush travel. In Alaska I usually took a tomahawk out with me, but if I were still living there I would certainly take this axe as a replacement. This is a great value in an American made axe and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good bushcraft tool or axe for use around their property.

Here is the handle where it meets the head. I carved off the extra material on the right side to even things out a bit.

I cut off about an inch of the end knob and slimmed it out to fit my hands better. It came very chunky. I also drilled a hole for handing it on the pegboard and to allow a place to tie down to a pack. I also slimmed down the overall thickness a bit as I like a slimmer handle.

Here is the head after removing the paint. There still is a little bit of the red paint left behind, but even a paint stripper was not getting it off so I figured it was good enough. I also thinned the bit out just a hair and gave it a good sharpening.

Anyways with a little work this is a great little axe. In fact it is one of the best choppers that I have. I was very surprised at how efficient it is and how well it cuts. Not bad for a $30 axe.

Take care,
Dave

