Tags

Yesterday marked the tenth week camping on our land. About two weeks ago we moved into the unfinished cabin, but it is still like tent camping as there is no water, electricity, heat, bedrooms, or privacy to be alone for a minute.

Today I feel physically and mentally exhausted. I need to get back to work, but I am having a hard time getting my head in the game.

They say that in survival situations, what kills most people, is when they get to the stage where they have a hard time doing what they need to keep fed, dry, and warm. I can completely understand that right at the moment. I would just like to go sit next to a tree for the rest of the day and not worry about anything. However if I do that the cabin will not be ready for winter and we would be miserable and probably freeze to death.

I do not typically write about stuff like this on my blog, but it is the reality of undertaking such a project. Lots of people have a glamorous view of doing something like this, but it is extremely hard living on property with very little and camping while you undertake building a home in a place like northern Minnesota where the closest hardware store is over an hour away.

So there you have it. I cannot afford more idle time so I must get up and finish getting this cabin insulated, for the cold nights are here and winter will be upon us very soon.

