Tags

,

I get asked on occasion if I actually use the treenware I make. Treenware, by the way, is a word used to describe wooden objects such as bowls and spoons made from green wood. 

Using the treenware I make is something I most certainly do and enjoy. Here is an example of a two such items made from paper birch. This wooden bowl turned on a pole lathe and a hand carved spoon are two that I use often.



One of the reasons I enjoy green woodworking is because I like to make things that are functional. It took a while for me to actually use what I had made though in the beginning. Like most people I was worried that I might ruin the items I had taken the time to make. 

One day I decided to start using my wooden spoons and bowls and have really enjoyed the transition to their use. The more you use these items the nicer they get. The spoons get silky smooth and become very nice to eat with. The bowls insulate your food and are nice and warm to the touch but not burning hot like modern ceramic or porcelain. What’s not to like?

Will they wear out one day? Probably, but not for a long time. Case in point are several 1000 plus year old bowls I held and examined that belong to Roger Abrahamson. They were turned with primitive means by today’s standards on a pole lathe and have probably been used for most of their life.  Yet these bowls could probably be used for another hundred years if not another thousand. 

So, if you have some treenware on your shelf, pull it down and give it a try next time you eat. You might just like it. 

