Tags

,

A few weeks back my dog and good friend of 15 years passed away. It was really hard to see him go, but I am thankful for having him in my life. To me he was not just any old dog, he was also responsible for saving my life on a few occasions when living in the Alaskan Bush. For that I am forever grateful.

IMG_0328

One thing that has begun to happen since his death, is that we are seeing a lot more wildlife on our homestead. It started the day after he died. In a way it feels like these animals are showing up to replace his presence and keep us company.

Below is a photo showing two of the four Sandhill Cranes that were hanging out in our field this morning. They are beautiful to watch as they go after frogs in the freshly hayed field. They also have quite the presence as they can stand up to five feet tall.

SHC2

The photo is taken with my old Canon 30D paired with a Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM lens. The shot could have been better if I used a tripod, but I got a new ball head and only have one quick change plate which was on another camera. So that left me hand holding this big lens and using the Image Stabilizer for the shot in fairly low light.

So long pup, and welcome new visitors to our homestead.

Dave

